Skip to content

Vancouver Imaging Review: Head to Toe

September 16 – 18, 2024

– Virtual Event –

2023 On-Site Keynote Speakers

Dr Ania Kielar

Dr. Ania Kielar

Ania Kielar is an abdominal radiologist at the Joint Department of Medical Imaging in Toronto. She completed her medical school and residency at the University of Ottawa. Her fellowship is in abdominal imaging at the University of Michigan, in Ann Arbor. She is associate professor and Vice Chair at large at the University of Toronto. She is deputy chief of JDMI with a portfolio of quality and practice improvement. She is currently the president  of the Canadian Association of Radiologists and on the board of the CAR Journal.


Dr. Timo Krings

Timo Krings MD PhD FRCP(C)
Professor of Neuroradiology and Neurosurgery
David Braley Chair in Interventional Neuroradiology and Director of Interventional Neuroradiology, University of Toronto
Toronto Western Hospital

Dr. Krings studied medicine in Aachen, Germany and at Harvard Medical School in Boston. After residency training in Neuroradiology in Aachen with Prof. Armin Thron, he completed a neurointerventional fellowship with Professor Pierre Lasjaunias in Paris, France and subsequently joined the Neuroradiology division of the University of Toronto as a diagnostic and interventional Neuroradiologist in 2008. He is currently cross appointed to Radiology and Neurosurgery at UHN and as an interventional Neuroradiologist at the Hospital for Sick Children. He is a Full Professor of Radiology and Surgery, the Director of Interventional Neuroradiology at the University Health Network, Mount Sinai and Women’s College Hospitals and he holds the David Braley and Nancy Gordon Chair in Interventional Neuroradiology at the University of Toronto.

Focusing his research efforts on Imaging and Treatment of Neurovascular Diseases, Dr. Krings has published more than 500 peer reviewed articles, and approximately 30 book chapters and four books on interventional neuroradiology, neurovascular anatomy, Stroke Management and Neurovascular Imaging.

Dr. Krings’s leadership in the field of Neuroradiology is bolstered by his distinguished grants and awards, including the Scientific Award of the European Society of Neuroradiology, the Lucien Appel Prize, and the Founders Award in Interventional Neuroradiology of the ESNR. He recently received the Gold Medal of the British Society of Neuroradiology. For the development of the Neuroradiology Program in Toronto he won the Anderson Award of the Wightman-Berris Academy and was granted the Edward Lansdown Award for outstanding teaching in the Residency Program of the University of Toronto.

IMG 8876

Dr. Ricardo Faingold

Ricardo Faingold, MD
Diagnostic Imaging
Hospital for Sick Children
University of Toronto

Ricardo is a pediatric radiologist and Director of Ultrasound at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto. He is an assistant professor at University of Toronto and adjunct professor at McGill University. He was born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

He was previously at the Montreal Children’s Hospital for a period of 16 years, where he was the Program Director of Pediatric Radiology at McGill University, Department of Diagnostic Radiology.

His areas of interest are: neonatal imaging, ultrasound and Cross-sectional imaging. In the past 20 years, he has helped developing new techniques in color Doppler ultrasound with research and publications in Necrotizing Enterocolitis, Neonatal Hypoxic-Ischemic Injury and other areas.

He is interested in simulation to improve education in the residency training. He is the Co-chair the outreach program of the World Federation of Pediatric Imaging and founding member of the Mozambique-Brazil-Canada Pediatric Radiology Outreach Group.

Dr Khaled Elbanna

Dr. Khaled Elbanna

Khaled Elbanna MD
Assistant Professor. University of Toronto
Staff Radiologist (University Medical Imaging of Toronto ): University Health Network, Mount Sinai Hospital and Women’s College Hospital

Dr. Khaled Elbanna is an assistant professor of Radiology at the University of Toronto who Joined the University Medical Imaging of Toronto (UMIT) after completing Abdominal Imaging and Emergency/Trauma Imaging Fellowships at the University of Toronto and the University of British Columbia. Dr. Elbanna has special interests in Hepatobiliary-Pancreatic imaging, MRI, and Dual-energy CT.

Dr Michael OKeeffe 165X165

Dr. Michael O'Keeffe

Dr. Michael O’Keeffe completed his radiology residency in the Republic of Ireland. He then completed an emergency and trauma radiology fellowship at Vancouver general hospital in 2016. He currently works as a staff emergency and trauma radiologist at Sunnybrook health sciences center in Toronto. He is an assistant professor of medical imaging at the University of Toronto.  He has particular interest in ballistic injuries, bowel and mesenteric injury and acute stroke imaging.

Dr. Pratik Mukherjee

Dr. Pratik Mukherjee

Dr. Pratik Mukherjee (MPH, MMED, FRCR) completed his radiology training in Singapore and received MMed (NUS, Singapore) and FRCR (London) in 2014. He did his fellowship in Emergency and Trauma radiology from Vancouver General Hospital, University of British Columbia, Canada in 2018. Currently he is working as a Senior Consultant Radiologist in Woodlands Health and Khoo Tech Puat Hospital, Singapore and leads the emergency radiology services.

He is the founding and immediate past Chairman of the Emergency Radiology subsection, SRS, Singapore.

He has few peer reviewed international publications, contributed book chapters and has delivered multiple oral and posters presentations in numerous international meetings. His keen interests are in Body and Emergency imaging.

Who Should Attend?

Radiologists, Fellows, Medical Imaging Technologists, and Residents.

Back To Top